Indiana Jones (All 4) – Movie Franchise Review

Directed by Steven Spielberg

Characters:
Henry Jones Jr./Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford)

I’m not billing anyone else as a main character. I see only one for every movie. 
Indiana Jones is one of the most popular characters of all time, and is a staple in cinematic history. Three of his four movies are considered classics, and certainly some of Spielberg’s best (which is really saying something), and I’m going to review all of them, after a little marathon. 
Raiders of the Lost Ark is an adventure movie, like all of them, about the Biblical Ark of the Covenant, and has Indiana Jones face off against Nazis in an attempt to find the object. If the Nazis get it, its powers can be used for wrong doing. Indiana Jones has to succeed. 
This movie is considered by many as the best of the lot, but not me. It’s definitely an exceptional movie, but third best for me. Perhaps I’m just odd. I think this movie deserves to have so many people adore it, and so do I, but it isn’t my favourite of the bunch. It did debut the iconic Indiana Jones music by John Williams, and that will always give it points. 
I’m going to rate it as high as possible, but I’m going to talk about the other movies more. 
On a scale where M is the lowest, and R is the highest possible rating, with the highlighted letter being the rating:

Raiders of the Lost Ark: MIHIR

Now, Indiana Jones and the Temple Of Doom is a little closer to home for me, as it’s based in India for the most part. In this one, a Shivling has been stolen from a village that Indiana Jones ends up in because of complicated circumstances, and he must retrieve it from the people who stole it. The people who stole it happen to be followers of an ancient evil god who do supernatural things and enslave the village’s children. 
One of the things that fascinates me about all the Indiana Jones films is that they explored mythical tales. This one is very dark indeed, the darkest of them all, and I liked that. The tone is great. One thing I really didn’t like is the female character. She’s useless and incredibly annoying, and the movie would have benefited without her. The child actor too, playing Shorty, wasn’t the best. I don’t know if the acting was intentional or just bad, but it doesn’t work for me. 
The movie itself though, I really like. I like the way it is completely different to the original, and how it deals with a more adult theme. I like how the villain is old school, in the sense that he is just pure evil. He isn’t like Loki, he’s just a downright terrible person. 
I’m going to score this lower than the first movie, because it really isn’t as good as that, but personally I like this movie more. 

Indiana Jones and Temple of Doom: MIHIR


Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade though, this movie is the best. Even though Indiana Jones was so popular, you barely knew anything about him and his past. This movie explores that, and introduces Sean Connery as Henry Jones, his father. You also find out that Indiana Jones’ real name is Henry Jones Junior. And Sean Connery is simply amazing. 
The Last Crusade is about the Holy Grail. Yeah. What I’m going to talk about more though is how this movie is done. It’s hilarious. There’s even a really funny Adolf Hitler cameo! The relationship between Indiana Jones and his dad is amazing, and this movie answer so many unanswered questions and deepens Indiana Jones so much. Plus it’s a great movie on its own. 

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: MIHIR 


And finally, we come to the black sheep. Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull was released in 2008, much later than the other three, and it was the only one I went to watch in theatre (because I hadn’t been alive for the other three). I loved this movie as an 8 year old. But as I grew up I realised that a lot of people really didn’t like this movie at all, so when I re-watched this as a 16 year old who analyses every detail of a movie, my viewing experience was different. 

Let me make one thing clear: I do not dislike this movie. I actually like it. It just has some problems. I think Shia LeBeauf was actually really good in this movie, the basis of the story was really interesting. The first half of this movie I really like, with Jones and LeBeauf’s character searching for the skull. Things sort of drop though when they get captured. 

The CGI was okay, but nowhere near the standards of the era. And as far as the story goes, I feel like it could have been something really unique and special, but it was executed oddly. And my problem isn’t the fact that aliens are involved. My problem is how everything just goes absolutely insane at the end, when it instead could have ended with something like a message from the aliens. But instead it ended with the aliens showing themselves and leaving, which is so cliched that it redefines the word ‘cliche’. 

I can understand why people don’t like this movie. It doesn’t match up to the rest. But I don’t think it’s terrible either. 

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull: MIHIR

I’ve heard rumours of a fifth installment, starring Chris Pratt. Part of me says no because I’m not a big fan of reboots or dragging on with sequels. But then again, it’s Chris Pratt! 
Leave a Reply

