A Look at 3 Comic Con Trailers: Stranger Things, Justice League, Thor: Rangarok

I am writing this article before any other trailer has been released, so should an Infinity War trailer actually be made public soon, I’m just being stupid here. That will get its own post though, should it be released. Also, I cannot have the trailers here, so if you want to watch them, find them on YouTube.

Stranger Things season 2

The greatest thing I can say about this trailer is that it convinced me that a second season for this show is a good idea. I loved Stranger Things but I felt like it could have been a one-season show, but if this trailer is any indication, the awesomeness is not over. And Eleven is alive. Obviously.

It’s clear that the second season of this show will not be as restricted as the first to only a certain set of characters. Logically, more people are going to be affected by everything that is going on, and it’s going to be interesting to see how that’s handled.

Regardless, come October, Netflix might crash from all the simultaneous streams.

Justice League

liga3_GRuRM37.jpg

I am already on Death Row with this film, and I fear I’m going to receive a lot of backlash for saying anything else about it. I’ll just go ahead anyway.

I am not excited for Justice League, and if me from three years ago read this, I would lose faith in myself (that makes sense, right?). The thing is, we live in a post-Avengers world. Hell, we live in a post-Ant-Man world. We’re at a point now when competition in the comic book movie genre is at its peak. Excuse my business mindset here, but in order to get ahead, you need to be able to make films that stand out.

Marvel have been very smart with their films, because all of them, in one way or the other, stand out. This year alone, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 has been its own distinct space opera, Spider-Man: Homecoming has been a John-Hughes-style high school film, and Thor: Ragnarok looks like it’s going to be a road trip film of sorts (more on that in a bit). Fox’s Logan was a film far too mature to be a comic book movie. Even Wonder Woman, which I loved, was a powerful war film. All of these films are great because they are fresh in their own nature.

The problem with the Justice League film is that it just looks so bland, and the trailers are no different. It just looks like another heroes-come-together-to-stop-an-alien-threat film, and honestly that is all that it is. Is this film too early? Yes. It is. Three of the five (excluding Superman) members of the Justice League are making their first appearance in the DC cinematic universe, and them jumping right into something of this scale is crazy. My biggest fear is that it’s just going to be long, drawn-out action sequences with nothing much in between.

I hate to make the Avengers parallel, but I have to. There are basically two action set pieces in The Avengers, and a lot of the movie is devoted to actually making the team a team. I am not sure if the Justice League movie will be able to do that.

Furthermore, the tone is just all over the place. I’ve disliked both trailers for this film because I think the choice of the soundtrack has been laughable. Whoever thought rock music would be a better choice than an orchestra score, at least for the trailers, really set the wrong mood. I might be nitpicking here, but one of the DC Universe’s biggest problems has been its tone, which, despite what anyone will tell you, has been a complete mess. Choosing to go all out and have the tone of Independence Day for this movie is very strange.

Maybe my idea of a Justice League movie is different to most. I respect everyone’s opinions but I’m just not sold on this movie. The fact that it is sandwiched between Thor: Ragnarok and Star Wars: The Last Jedi really isn’t helping it much. Disney is evil. But, for the sake of the comic book film, I really, really hope my thoughts about Justice League change dramatically when I watch the film.

I will end this section with things I liked. The idea that everyone is throwing around quips I do not like. It is unfitting and, quite frankly, very Marvel-esque. However, the one character that does seem to have this as a benefit is Ezra Miller’s Flash. He just looks great.

I liked the Steppenwolf reveal on Themyscira. That was a nice touch.

Also, the end of the trailer can either be Superman or Green Lantern. Personally, I think it’s the former, but speculate as you will.

Thor: Ragnarok

thor-ragnarok-1_marvel.jpg

I just realised how long the last section was. Wow.

Anyway, the last trailer I want to talk about is Thor: Ragnarok. Right off the bat, I’ll address my one concern, and it’s that there will be a lot of exposition in the film, of which I’m not a fan.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk about how incredible this trailer is.

The things seen are brilliant. Tom Hiddleston’s Loki is always beyond perfect. The Hulk and Thor relationship seems to be one that is going to be fun. Also, The Hulk can talk in Hulk form, albeit with a little broken grammar. Cate Blanchett’s Hela looks like she’s going to be a true menace on screen (making this the only year ever in which all of the villains in Marvel films are excellent. One can only hope). My knowledge of Norse mythology made me immediately recognise Fenris Wolf, who I somehow did not know was associated with Marvel Norse mythology, but that was nice to see. Loki is clearly on Thor’s side, but what is most interesting to me is that in the Infinity War footage shown at D23, I read that Loki is shown handing the Tesseract over to Thanos. Loki lives up to his trickster moniker. Loki is just amazing in the MCU.

The last shot showed the Hulk flying right into Surtur, and my first thought was ‘Dormammu’. I just hope Surtur is better.

Evidently, this film is not holding back on ‘Ragnarok’. There appear to be many, many elements but that is the point. It is the end of the nine realms as we supposedly know it.

As I’ve mentioned before when talking about this film, despite all the characters and actors in the film, Taika Waititi being in the director’s chair is what excites me the most. Just watch Hunt For the Wilderpeople.

I’m going to stop here because this has been long. Despite what I may have said about the Justice League, I still cannot wait to watch all of these. What are trailers for?

 

Leave a Reply

