Movie Love Tag: Continuing a Trend For Film Bloggers

Sollie FilmTV Reviews recently made a similar post to this, in which you answer a number of questions regarding films, and nominated me to do it as well, and I will amicably oblige. So, the Movie Love Tag encourages people to answer a set few questions and then nominate someone else to do the same thing. Fairly simple. I’m just going to get it into it.

What movie could you not live without?

6362173248589845201450983800_forrest gump

This is, by no stretch, a simple question, and it took some consideration. After a while though, all I can conclude is that it has to be the first film that popped into my head. Forrest Gump is a spectacle of modern history and I cannot imagine existence itself without this movie.

What movie did you hate?

suicide-squad-7b4b8e30b13badcf

I decided not to stick with this question for too long and just threw in the very first thought that came to mind.

What movie did you find meaningful and prolific?

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

I shuffled between Birdman and The Perks of Being a Wallflower for a while, both of which I can greatly relate to. However, I have to give it to the latter because I can connect with it just a tad bit more.

A movie that you’d like to revisit because it’s been so long since you saw it

et-elliott-fly-across-moon

This is a movie that I stayed away from as a child, and I actually do not know why. Perhaps I watched it once as a seven year old, couldn’t connect to it, and left the DVD untouched for years. A couple of years ago, I told myself I had to watch Spielberg’s ET, and I made myself feel like the stupidest child who has ever walked this planet. It’s just dawned on me that I haven’t watched it again since, and it truly deserves to be re-watched. It’s just one of the most magical films ever made.

What’s your favourite horror movie?

4118bc185081d7b9ff5160dc6e5304cbaab081a7

I’m afraid to say I don’t have one. Not the biggest fan of the genre, if I’m honest. If it counts though, I’ll just say Stranger Things, even though it’s more thriller and also, it’s not a movie. It is technically cheating, but it’s the best I can do. Also, Stranger Things is spectacularly mind-blowing. I don’t think the internet has mentioned that enough.

What movie did you think would be a lot better than it actually was?

batman-vs-superman.jpg

Well, the DC Cinematic Universe made it here twice. I knew Suicide Squad was going to be bad, but I thought this would be a home run. Interestingly, I gave it a full rating in my review, but as time went on the film just got worse. I even made a list of things wrong with the movie, which is at the end of this article.

What is the last good movie you watched?

_414c5952-00ce-11e7-a3af-7fa15638f741

The answer to this question depends on what it means. If it means last good movie in general, then it’s Hotel Rwanda, which I recently watched at home. If it means last good film I watched at the cinemas, it’s Logan. And my goodness what a film that was.

What movie do you really want to see?

star_wars_the_last_jedi_logo

There are a great number of films on my list this year, particularly all three Marvel films. It’s great how there is so much excitement surrounding the MCU. However, if I had to choose one film to watch this year, it would be Star Wars: The Last Jedi. I mean, come on.

What’s a popular movie you’ve never seen?

celebrating-45-years-of-the-godfather-01

Embarrassingly, this list is longer for me than for most movie geeks, for two reasons. I tend to watch less films than most, because I really take my time on each movie, analysing it as much as I can. And also, I have a fond liking for independent films, so popular movies often take the back seat for me. Regardless, despite my list being ridiculously long (I actually have a list), the one that tops the lot is the Godfather trilogy. Once again, that’s three so it’s technically cheating, but I can’t do any better.

What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

maxresdefault2

The answer to this question, again, depends on interpretation. Does this mean a film set at Christmas time, or simply one that released during Christmas season? If it’s the former, I’d have to say Home Alone, or Shane Black’s The Nice Guys. You know what, that’s what I’m going with.
If it’s a film released around Christmas, then… (pfft) Star Wars: The Force Awakens. But I’m still going to go with The Nice Guys. That film is far too brilliant for any of us to deserve.

That’s that. I don’t know too many film bloggers other than Sollie, so I’m going to nominate my friend, author of The Boss Writes, to take this on and then nominate somebody else.

 

 

 

Leave a comment